>
Scotts Two Cents
Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:07 a.m. - 2016-10-30
Political Theory X

Political Theory X




As I peer over the current political landscape I feel that I have unwittingly become a helpless witness to the current reality of our potential political demise. A little over a year ago, before the republican primary season came into full swing, I assumed that, after eight very damaging and sluggish years of the Obama administration, anybody that the republicans put up to run against the preordained democratic candidate Hillary Clinton would inevitably beat her the way that you would imagine the Denver Broncos beating your local high school football team. Needless to say I was very surprised when the billionaire real-estate mogul Donald Trump bombastically announced his desire to run for the republican nomination for presidency of the United States. I must say that upon his initial announcement I found myself, at least for the first month, laughing myself to tears every time I turned on the morning news to see what ridiculous statements the orange colored billionaire had said that day. However, in the months ahead I found myself completely and utterly perplexed by the meteoric rise of this very unconventional anti-politician.


I think it was around the first of August 2015. I was sitting in my brown lazy boy recliner after a long day at work when I flipped the TV on and, as I routinely did, turned the channel over to fox news to check out the political waterfront of the day. When I got over to fox I remembered that the first republican primary debate was on that night and I eagerly settled in to watch the political antics that would ensue. As the debate was beginning I remember thinking that Donald Trump would be, despite what was said in the media, merely a footnote and I was preparing myself for a long and substantive political debate. Unfortunately, to my grim surprise, the debate was anything but that. Trump was center stage because of the current polling and the debate rapidly devolved into every juvenile insult that you would only expect to hear on a jr. high school playground. I remember thinking that Trump had enormously embarrassed himself on that stage, especially with his adolescent and bitter exchange with moderator Megan Kelly. I thought, “After this, this guy is done for”. To my complete and total astonishment, in the weeks to follow, Donald Trump rose dramatically in the polls, running double digits ahead of his nearest republican rivals. As the next three debates played out I remember feeling certain that Trump would destroy himself with his fiery rhetoric. That, as we know now, did not happen. Donald Trump rapidly began to gain enormous popularity with the extreme right wing of the once beloved party of Lincoln on a foundational platform of Xenophobia, misogyny, personal insults, and the general politics of fear. As a republican, and a proud citizen of this great nation, I remember thinking, "How did we come to this point?" "Had we finally removed ourselves from all that was honest and chaste about our political leaders?" "Has our own personal morality eroded to a point to which our decisions about our potential political leaders are shaped only by our own personal fears and prejudices?”


After I had come to the realization that Donald Trump had a real, legitimate shot at becoming the republican presidential nominee. I found myself running through the classic stages of the grieving process. First comes denial, “Is this guy serious?” Then comes anger, “Have you people lost your minds? Why are you people voting for this windbag?” After that bargaining, “what if we could get enough votes to block him at the convention?”, then comes depression, “well we’re screwed! We have to choose between a narcissistic windbag and a negligent liar!”, and finally comes acceptance, “well we might be able to survive four more years on totally incompetent leadership.” I found myself in a situation where I began to feel like I was in the position of drawing straws, only to find that the short straws were the only ones left in the bundle. As the convention approached I became resided to the inevitable fact that Trump would become the nominee. I was faced with the grim task of trying to evaluate what factors got us into this helpless situation.


In late 2008, as the election was coming to a close and Obama became the president elect, there arose out of the scorched grassroots of the defeated and demoralized Republican Party a movement that, in hindsight, was the beginning of a gross divide that is only now coming completely to the surface. The Tea Party movement, at its inception, was intended to be the final holdout for pure constitutional principles. Unfortunately, it now appears that this once pure movement was, throughout the years, infiltrated, in part, by the nationalistic, protectionist, ultra-right wing factions that existed deep within the paranoid underbelly of the Republican Party. I have, in the light of Trumps win in the primary, as well as, the current polling, become very concerned that this infiltration has infected the party to a degree that is not yet measurable. You may remember what engulfed the entertainment industry right after the 2008 presidential election were shows like doomsday peppers as well as a myriad of other survivalist programs that seemed to insinuate that the ultimate end was just around the next corner. The problem with this logic was that the apocalypse never actually happened and there are many people that still believe that this unfortunate outcome is immanent and they are extremely frightened. I believe, after much in-depth research, that this road has unintentionally led to the lion share of the republican electorate moving towards one Donald Trump. In short the Republican Party has been cultivating thee seeds that have grown into the fear and hysteria that has, over time, produced a xenophobic, misogynistic, and narcissistic candidate like Trump. The inconvenient truth is that we, as the tea party supporting republican electorate, must take a large responsibility for, although unknowingly, cultivating and fueling the atmosphere that has grown to accept an authoritarian strongman like Donald Trump. It stands well upon our shoulders, at this juncture, less than a two weeks out from the election to reverse this course and stand steadfastly on the timeless principals that made us the nation in which we are today. I am therefore calling on all principled and constitutional republicans to officially withdrawal there support from Donald Trump. Many will say that this is tantamount to a vote for Hillary Clinton, but it is truly a vote for the soul and future of the floundering Republican Party. You must see that if a progressive, authoritarian candidate like Donald Trump wins the election that the once beloved party of small government will be irreparably destroyed and transformed for the foreseeable future.


With all of these unflattering things being said about "the Donald", I feel the need to make it crystal clear how I feel about our other hopeless disaster of a choice for president. Hillary Clinton should not need the same introduction as Donald. She has had a very public and illustrious career, over the past thirty years, of overt deception, and overwhelmingly scandalous behavior, that has propelled her to the very top of our current political system. The most abhorrent of this deceptive and scandalous behavior happened in a little corner of the world called Benghazi. Hillary Clinton’s inaction in Benghazi Libya led to the deaths of four Americans including ambassador Chris Stevens. Shortly after, as she was comforting grieving family members, and as the coffins arrived back in the United States, Clinton continued to blame the attacks on an obscure youtube video that, she knew, had nothing to do with the situation. At this point going into all of the various scandals that have, over the past thirty plus years plagued the Clintons legacy, would take more time than I think you would want me to go into. So I will spare you the gruesome details and head right to the conclusion.


In closing I would like to propose a toast. To all of the idiotic, uniformed, people who left us with this impossible, grim, and bleak decision. Thank you for being so stupid and naïve. Thank you for being so blindly gullible. And finally, thank you for forcing America to cope with, at least, four years of incompetent, self-serving, xenophobic, gun grabbing, unconstitutional, reckless, and outright dangerous leadership that we currently find ourselves forced to choose from. Good luck finding any semblance of comfort or hope as your standing inside the ballot box desperately trying to choose between these two deplorable candidates.


Yours truly, the hopeless forgotten citizens of this country.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!